March 30, 2009

The Cult of Angelic Pretty?

Posted in Uncategorized at 7:07 am by rosecarnival

Angelic Pretty- the super-sweet lolita brand that is making waves in both the international and the Japanese lolita fashion communities. Known for signature pieces like Magical Etoile, Puppet Circus, Sugary Carnival, and Yumeiru Macaron (to name a few), AP is fast gaining the love and adoration of many sweet lolitas world-wide. When they opened their English site, they had to re-do their ordering process to cope with all of the orders they were recieving. The resale prices on most of their items-not just the popular ones- are often on the ridiculous side. Then the fringe lolita brand Bodyline put out replicas of two of their most famous pieces, Melody Doll and Fruit Parlour. Angelic Pretty is quickly becoming the go-to sweet lolita brand.

I think it’s safe to say that most sweet lolitas covet one specific AP item- and many own numerous pieces. Other sweet lolita brands, Metamorphose and Baby the Stars Shine Bright are being left in the dust.

Why? Why are some of the most beloved brands being left for the sugary laces of Angelic Pretty?

I think it is because Angelic Pretty made the first stride to ‘connect’ with overseas lolitas. Yeah, Baby and Meta opened their overseas stores first, but they never really made a move to meet one-on-one with the international lolitas. Angelic Pretty did just so, with the designers Maki and Asuka’s apperances at Pacific Media Expo (PMX) in the last two years. Lolitas saw the faces behind the brand, learned who came up with the designs they so coveted.

When Baby made the same move in 2008, to appear at New York’s anime expo (correct me if i am wrong) they didn’t exactly get a turn-out like the AP event did. Reports said that the designers from Baby were shy, and only warmed up near the end of the event.

Also, Angelic Pretty was the last of the big three sweet brands to open up overseas shipping. Before then, Yahoo! Japan Auctions, Shopping Services and the like had to be used to obtain AP products. Even now, AP doesn’t stock many items on their English site, so in my opinion, an element of rarity and elusiveness remains on their products.

Could that be why Angelic Pretty is gaining so much love from the lolita community?

Also, Kokusyoku Sumire (a duet of singers) wear Angelic Pretty; the artist Imai Kira illustrates for AP, the popular lolita blogger Sae and her group of friends wear highly coordinated AP outfits. AP has it all- media, art, and popularity.

Maybe some like AP for the designs or the style- don’t get me wrong, I like AP and have an extensive wishlist for their items. I just like BTSSB more.

2 Comments »

  1. Aimee said,

    interesting post,… it’s fun to think about why things are popular.
    Personally, I think the main issue is the over-the-top sweetness of Angelic Pretty. Stylistically, Sugary Carnival, for example, is way super-sweeter than anything put out by other brands. AP has more sparkle,… while BTSSB, for example, is a bit more elegant or classic. If someone wants to go a bit gyaru or fairy-kei,… AP really is the go-to due to it’s style. AP feels a little flashier (ie “super” cute rather than elegant cute)

    When I buy, I’m usually about the prints… and AP has so many cute drawings on their’s. I think they really appeal to the little girl in all of us. Each time there is a new themed print, if it’s well-designed, people typically want it.
    BTSSB has had Novala come out (the year before AP at PMX) and BTSSB has gone to NY Anime Festival and had a San Fran event with Tokyo Pop… so it’s not that they haven’t come -at all-… NY Anime Festival may not have been the best venue for them, it’s hard to say. AP’s Oneesan events were planned by local lolitas and SoCal has a really strong local lolita contingent. I think if Oneesan had done a BTSSB event in SoCal, they would have had an equal attendance to the other. It’s hard to say or to compare though. Who knows!
    I’ve had really great experiences with BTSSB, AP and Meta,… so I’m not sure if I have a strong preference, it’s just about what I like that comes out that season.

    if I had to pick one though, I’d pick BTSSB, because I really really am grateful for their attempt to reach out to differently-sized lolitas through their S, M, and L sizes. I appreciate, too, that they let us order in english through their website (any stock, not just “for english only stock”). I know AP is probably trying, but I’d really like to see them allow us to order from the same stock as the JP site, and I’d love to see more sizes. I k now all these companies are small, so it’s not like I’m “expecting them to”… it just would be nice. 🙂

  2. uncarebear said,

    if I had to pick one though, I’d pick BTSSB, because I really really am grateful for their attempt to reach out to differently-sized lolitas through their S, M, and L sizes. I appreciate, too, that they let us order in english through their website (any stock, not just “for english only stock”). I know AP is probably trying, but I’d really like to see them allow us to order from the same stock as the JP site, and I’d love to see more sizes. I k now all these companies are small, so it’s not like I’m “expecting them to”… it just would be nice. 🙂
    ———–
    I agree with this point.

    AP english store is ALWAYS all-sold-out and sizes are rarely the right one signed on the site, when Baby’s most dresses are generally bigger and comfy.

    But I still love AP for their OVER THE TOP prints.


Leave a Reply

