September 20, 2009

On Lolita

Posted in Uncategorized at 11:51 am by rosecarnival

Lolita fashion is a major point in my life. Although I don’t exactly have a huge wardrobe, I still have some beloved dresses that mean alot to me. Lolita fashion means alot to me.

Yeah, it’s clothes. Just clothes. Frilly, lacey, flowery, ribbon-adorned, pastel or black, petticoated clothes.  But every girl who dresses lolita has her own story to tell. To every lolita, whether they just dress the style or they live the style holds lolita in their hearts.

My story? Well, I had always liked more girly things, and in middle school, I took and interest in the Victorian era, corsets and lace and petticoats. Unfortunatly, the only corsets or lace I could get was the gothic style at Hot Topic. So when a friend told me about the Gothic and Lolita bible, I became intrigued. I fell in love with the sweet lolita style, because I could wear the style I like without looking gothic. Their is nothing wrong with the gothic style, but my mum would have a heart attack and this was the age of school where, if you wore more then one thing that’s black, you would be emooooo.

So upon taking a trip to Japan, I purchased my first lolita item from Baby, the Stars Shine Bright. From their on, my love of lolita fashion started. I dappled with an ita-licious dress- too short, half bad and half nice lace. But it’s the trials we go through that make us better dressed lolitas, eh? When I found out my sewing skills were limited to sock toppers, headbows, headdress, and wristcuffs, I knew I would have to save and save to buy lolita. Hours spent mowing lawns in the Guam heat and humidity paid off- BTSSB dress!  And so on and so forth- more work equaled more lolita clothes.

I enjoy all matters of lacey and frilly things, but a lolita dress is my favorite frills. Even though the dresses can be impratical, and bring down unwanted comments, lolita always made me feel empowered and special. Just that I am out there saying “Yeah, this is how I like to dress. You have a problem?” Lolita makes me feel like a modern-day princess- a princess who can stand up for herself and knows how to dress.

Even when I am in an old t-shirt and shorts, I still like to call myself “lolita.” I don’t think I can really explain this, but I do.

If you’ve read my RAGE post, yes, I overeacted over lolita. Normally I would have just calmed down and explained how not everything in lolita. But a personal experience and the truth of lolita were at stake, so I flipped. Partly because of the reasons I mentioned above, and partly because I got to say alot of things to that boy that I’ve been wanting to say for a while.

So, in short, lolita means alot to me, much more then clothes. I’m no lifestyle lolita, but I agree on how the clothes make you feel (to a degree).

So stay lovely lolita-chans!

2 Comments »

  1. Tnelson said,

    Hey very nice blog!!….I’m an instant fan, I have bookmarked you and I’ll be checking back on a regular….See ya

  2. JimmyBean said,

    I don’t know If I said it already but …Great site…keep up the good work. 🙂 I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Jim Bean


Leave a Reply

